Ophthalmology Rotation

Whenever I am learning about the eye, I am always so captivated and in awe of how beautifully and intricately God made us.  I appreciate new discoveries by scientists.  Their findings give me a more behind the scenes view of God’s masterful work.  Thank you!
 
Ophthalmology rotation was a busy rotation, but it was not severely difficult.  I was constantly on my feet seeing the next patient, but our physical exams mainly honed in on the eye using sophisticated tools that would determine the pet’s current eye defect.  My favorite task was dilating the pupil and shining a light through a lens in order to see the retina.  It is a beautiful anatomical structure found in the back of the eye.  After you do a thorough eye exam, then the resident comes in and does their exam but with more advanced equipment.  After the resident looks at the eye, then the faculty ophthalmologist assesses the eye.
 
We also had the wonderful opportunity to observe surgeries performed on eyes.  My favorite surgery was a phacoemulsification, which is a modern version of cataract surgery where the lens are removed through emulsion with an ultrasonic hand piece.
 
Here’s what other people had to say about this rotation:
What was Orientation Day like?
-Arrived at 8:00 and briefly went over what to expect during the rotation.  Looked at the schedule for the day and started seeing appointments like normal.
 
Average Daily Hours on Duty?
-8:00-9:00 to 4:45-5:30
 
What is the attire? (When do you change into scrubs?)
-business casual with white coat and nametag; bring scrubs in case of emergency surgeries
What do doctors/residents/techs constantly harp on?
-know your drugs, how to do a basic exam, etc.  nothing is harped on and they are happy to teach easy basic stuff, but you could review a little
 
What are some struggles to watch out for?
-Appointments take forever.  I would recommend just setting your clients up for a long process in the beginning by explaining how the teaching hospital works and that things move slowly.  Most clients are pretty reasonable about it, especially if they know ahead of time.
 
Words of encouragement (positive comments/stories during your time in this rotation)
-Super nice doctors.  Rounds are helpful and consults from other departments are good opportunities to learn about the basic exam.
 
Difficulty Level (1-3)? 1= It’s a breeze/ 3= really difficult workload
1 / 3
Through Him,
 
~Camille
 
Philippians 4:11-13= “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”
2 thoughts on “Ophthalmology Rotation

  1. Thank you, for the update Camille! Joshua & I enjoy reading along and hearing about all the wonderful things you’re learning about. Keep up the great enthusiasm and effort–graduation is a few days away!! 😆 👍🎓

Leave a Reply

