Emergency Critical Care Rotation

In all honesty . . . the first week was rough.  The cool phenomenon about this rotation is that you get to see some of the craziest things that will enter a hospital.  The problem was that my brain was not fully prepared for what was presented before me.  I was so excited to get a case, and then I would freeze when I was getting quizzed by the faculty veterinarians and the residents.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love being challenged with countless questions, but I was so discouraged when I could not answer a ton of them.  After the first week of getting used to the routine, my nerves calmed down a bit.  I would always take a nice breath, quickly assess the patient, and already have a problem list and plan in my head before I got asked multiple questions from the doctors.  This was one of the hardest rotations that truly humbled me intellectually.  I still have SO much to learn, but that is why I love this career!  You will never stop learning when you become a certified veterinarian.  This career is constantly changing and improving every year.

Through Him,

~Camille

Isaiah 41:10=  So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

2 thoughts on “Emergency Critical Care Rotation

  1. Can you give a brief explanation about what rotations are required of veterinary students and how much time during 4th year students are permitted to do elective rotations and externships?

    • Hey William! So, it all depends on the emphasis that you are pursuing (small vs. large vs. public corporate vs. exotics, etc.) Each student will get a form showing the requirement of what rotations to take for your particular emphasis.

      For small animal (my emphasis):

      1. The core rotations are (CPC, Anesthesiology, Radiology, Diagnostic Pathology, and one choice of a large animal rotation- emergency, internal medicine, and surgery)

      2. Emphasis requirements for SA are (general surgery, internal medicine, orthopedic surgery, neurology, ophthalmology, dermatology, emergency)

      3. Elective requirements must be 9 weeks so 3 rotations. They include (practice management, behavior, advanced clinical parasitology, clerical pathology, exotics, academic rotation, and special topics)

      4. You can repeat rotations that you prefer to tackle again.

      5. Externships: You can do a total of 9 weeks, and 6 weeks is the minimum (require two 3-week externships at a private practice and one extra can be at an institution

      Hope this helps

Leave a Reply

