Time to Prove Myself (Week 8)

Week’s Itinerary= SA Digestive Quiz #2, Basic Surgery Final Exam, Science Research Symposium

Even through all this madness, I am doing surprisingly well with my grades.  I am beginning to find a balance where I am not being blown this way or that by my surroundings. I am staying the course that God has graciously provided for me. In past semesters, I would occasionally be discouraged by professors, classmates, or even anything I saw displeasing in my environment. But now, I am beginning to stop worrying about every little thing that bothers my heart and spirit. Never let anything in your path discourage you from achieving your goals.

Small animal (SA) digestive quizzes are hard and adequate preparation takes up so much of my time.  We were asked to read two scientific articles about liver disease syndromes and the possible role of nutraceuticals (nutrition supplements that may act as medicines) for treating liver problems. Together, this assignment was more than 20 pages of pure intellectual dryness, assigned at the same time as studying for our surgery final.

Fortunately, reviewing for surgery was not that bad.  The final asked for short answers and was divided into surgery and anesthesia sections, just like the quizzes we’ve been taking. My advice is to review all the lectures and videos, and you should be fine.

Georgia Veterinary Scholars Program (GVSP) participants were required to present at UGA’s Vet School symposium this week. We presented our summer research findings to our peers and professors at the school, and not to an audience of basic scientists as we did before and honestly I was a lot less nervous.  My main goal was to make my talk as fun and engaging as I could, so that anyone could understand the experiments I did.

So I watched the audience carefully while I was talking. Some people smiled and nodded at the right times, but then I looked at others where their eyes were glazed over. Seeing that, I realized that I can’t make everyone understand what I’m trying to say. At least not yet.  My research included challenging material, and I now appreciate what professors go through during lectures.

You can learn more about my GVSP experiments in my post called “The Best of Summer”.

Through Him,

~Camille

Isaiah 30:41 “but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

Leave a Reply

