A Ride Filled with Turbulence (Week 7)

Week’s Itinerary= SA Digestive Midterm, Canine Ovariohysterectomy, Radiology Exam 3

Looking back on these past few weeks, I’ve realized that life at vet school can be a roller coaster.  I cannot believe I survived all of that, and there is still more to come.  I feel exhausted, spent, and delirious one day and then feel rejuvenated, inspired, and tranquil the next.  It’s a ride that is so life-changing that it’s still, after three years here, so hard to put into words.  Do I still think vet school is worth it?  Yes, but you need to make sure you are physically and mentally ready for the bumps and turns that this curriculum has to offer.

The first exam on Monday was the midterm for our small animal digestive course. The midterm was enjoyable but some questions were very tricky.  It was the type of exam where every answer could possibly be right, but the professors want the “most likely” or “BEST” answer from the list of choices.  I managed to do fine, thank goodness.

Surgery time!  It is my final surgery for our core classes. (I signed up for the advanced surgery elective for later this semester).  This week, we got to spay a pit bull mix.  I LOVED her so much and honestly wanted to adopt her because her personality was beautiful.  This is surprising because I was attacked by a loose pit bull this past July and harbored negative feelings toward pit bulls —  until I met this cutie pie.  She changed my whole perspective on them.  Not all pit bulls are monsters!  She also got adopted by a first year, so I am so happy she has a good home.

May

We did have a radiology quiz before our third exam on Friday, but that was very much like the others.   I got an A on the exam.  The professor was such a great teacher.  He discussed everything within the thorax and although the material was dense, he explained everything well and he was helpful with answering questions.

 

Through Him,

~Camille

John 14:27= “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Leave a Reply

