Bring it On (Week 5)

Week’s Itinerary= Radiology Exam 2, Respiratory Pathology Pre-test and Exam, Ovariohysterectomy Feline Surgery, and Surgery Quiz #4

I looked at the class schedule and realized that I have two exams for four consecutive weeks, on Mondays and Fridays. As a result, I can barely tell the differences between weekends and weekdays.  This Monday we had our radiology exam 2 and my feline spay surgery (ovariohysterectomy).  I was nervous before taking my radiology exam because of how revolting my quiz grade was last Friday. I approached the exam with a feeling of doom lurking ahead, but I should never have let that quiz discourage me.  The exam was surprisingly straight forward: it covered general concepts and abnormalities that can be detected in x-rays of equine forelimbs and hindlimbs.

Surgery was exhilarating!  I was finally the surgeon this time, and our patient was an adorable, 16-week-old female Seal Point Siamese.  A young cat equals a tiny reproductive tract, so this task was definitely an exciting challenge.  Another big issue for kittens is they can easily become hypotensive (low blood pressure), so we had fluids and emergency drugs ready to go for our patient.  I had the honor of taking out one ovary and the uterus while my surgery assistant took out the second ovary.  No signs of hemorrhage were detected, so our surgery procedure was a success.  And quiz #4 on Friday went well.  It consisted of an anesthesia and surgery portion.

Great news.  After our surgery, a classmate adopted our patient!  I am so happy for her because she is in great hands.

indie

indie2

Immediately after surgery, I had to begin studying for our pathology pre-test, which was  exhausting.  The pre-test was early Tuesday morning, so I did have overnight to review everything.  If you don’t remember from last year, we are allowed to take a pre-test before our actual test.  If we pass it with a score of 90% or better, we do not have to take the actual exam.  I love that rule.  However, passing the pre-test is easier said than done.  I did not pass the pre-test, but I did exceptionally well on the exam that was taken on Friday.

Through Him,

~Camille

Psalm 68:5-6:
“A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows,  is God in his holy dwelling.  God sets the lonely in families..”

Leave a Reply

