Keep it Coming! (Week 9)

Week’s Itinerary = Last Surgery, Clinical Pathology Paper, Polysystemic Final, Clinical Pathology Exam 2

I’m not afraid of you exams & papers & quizzes and assignments!!!!  Bring it on! 🙂 I seriously thought the intensity of this semester would dwindle by the end of February, but the intensity just keeps on coming.  I was hoping to become numb and get used to all this rigor, but each week continues to bring forth new challenges!  Five things happened this week:

1)    Opthalmology Quiz #4= it was the best grade I received for all my quizzes I took so far. One more to go!  Remember, doing the quizzes while the professor is lecturing is very helpful!!  You follow what they are saying plus you are getting an assignment done.  BOOM done.

2)    Clinical Pathology Paper= Yay!  Our group did well!!  This one was so much easier than the first one.  It had one case with about 18 questions regarding that one case instead of having to answer questions to MANY cases (tougher).  Advice, each member should look at everything (don’t split up the assignment/ trust me).

3)    Last Surgery! Guys, this was an action-packed week!!  I was the anesthesiologist, and I was having some TROUBLE.  The pig decided to stop breathing on  me . . . I and the pig became apneic in other words.  Guys, talk about nerve racking!!  Don’t panic if this happens to you!  Basically, an animal can go without O2 for about 5minutes before threat of death approaches.  So, my Anesthesiologist professor came over to me and said wait 5 minutes to not bag the patient (pump O2 into the lungs), and it should begin to breathe on its own (I have been facilitating with breathing for it for 10 minutes!).  That 5 minutes was the longest 5 minutes of my life!!  Fortunately, the pig began panting under anesthesia, which was good but not good at the same time (had to then adjust the isoflurane using the vaporizer).  Praise the Lord it did not die on my watch!!!

4)    Polysystemic Final= It was straightforward, but of course still study your heart out.  It was all multiple choice, and 4 teachers had questions for us :/

5)    Clinical Pathology(Exam 2)= Later years may not get the privilege of doing a take-home exam like how we did.  It was a blessing for us after all those Snow Days!  We had a take-home portion (strictly cases/ short answer and multiple choice) and a in-class portion (shorter but more nit-picky questions/ multiple choice)

One more week until Spring Break!!!

Through Him,

~Camille

Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Leave a Reply

