Spring Semester Already? (Spring Week1)

Week’s Itinerary= Class Schedule & Helpful Tips for Spring classes

They are not playing around this semester!  We started classes the day right after New Year’s Day at 8AM!  Anyway . . . welcome back to my blog!  I really did not start as strong this time the way I did in the first week last semester in the fall.  Since I worked during the break (even on Christmas Day), I was so exhausted my first week.  Plus, I was sick, so I did not study that much.  Sorry to sound so pessimistic!  I just wish I had one more week of rest.

All right, so this semester will be another action-packed adventure with well over 6 core courses.  But get this, we will end the core period earlier this semester and begin our elective period!  The upperclassmen told us how amazing and stress-free these elective weeks will be.  Core classes end on March 29th, and electives begin on April 1st to May 8th.  The cool incentive with the electives is how we can now branch out and study courses that pertain to our areas of interests.  Again, I am interested in small pets and exotics, so I will choose courses that emphasize them while other classmates will go to a large animal or public health course and so on.  Here’s the class schedule for this semester:

http://www.vet.uga.edu/academic/class_schedules

If you look at the schedule, every single morning at 8AM is Physiology II.  This class was not my favorite topic, but I hope learning about the endocrine, reproductive, and gastrointestinal system will be more entertaining.  The immunology class seems fine so far.  The professor would say what is important on a slide to know for an exam, which is very helpful.  Dr. Sylte is our professor again for Virology, and he mentioned that this class is just like Bacteriology but on steroids!!!  Fantastic.  I’m so looking forward to this intense class.  If you guys remember, I did not enjoy studying Bacteriology because the amount of bacteria was too overwhelming.  In Anatomy, labs will now be 4 days a week for 3 hours!  All 102 of you are now in the lab!  One day, I left really early b/c I could not concentrate with all that noise.

Great news!  The Department of Admissions finally sent us the application for vet scholarships!!  I have been waiting so long for this.  I guess they had to wait until we completed a semester so that we had a GPA score.

I decided to go to a meeting for the Surgery Treatment Crew on Thursday.  This will be a great opportunity for me to go down to the clinics and observe some fascinating surgeries!  We get to scrub in with the doctors and retrieve any tools needed for a surgery.  I got the opportunity to see three neurology surgeries this winter break.  Two were herniated disk surgeries, and I was in awe with what I saw.

photoHere’s a sweet classmate and me after viewing an exciting surgery!

Speaking of my Winter Break experience (3 surgeries/ 2 MRIs/ pet treatments), I highly enjoyed myself and learned so much down at the Neurology department.  Even though I did not enjoy the class last semester, the clinical aspect of Neurology is beautiful!  I got to work with some incredible doctors and technicians here at UGA’s Vet Teaching Hospital, and I learned how to write SOAPs, which involved paper work for each patient.  Even though I felt like a klutz sometimes, I did the best I could with what was given to me to achieve.  There were times where I definitely missed my family (especially Christmas Day).  It just did not feel right working on such a sacred and special day for me in honoring my Savior Jesus Christ.  I personally will not do this again next Winter Break, but I am glad I did it this year.

This weekend, I got the chance to perform at a friend’s wedding!  It was so beautiful.  She and her fiancé wanted ceremony to be like a worship service, so I sang a lot of songs!  I performed with some friends I knew in the School of Music at UGA.

photo (2)

Helpful (General concepts) (Hey guys!  This is Camille from the future after completing my 1st year of vet school.  Refer back to this post so that you have an idea on how to study for these particular classes that I found helpful)

Ethics= put a reminder on your phone EVERYDAY to do those assignments that are due the following day at 8am.  Trust me.  They are easy to forget some days.  Make sure you read the rubric for the writing assignments.

Immunology= I didn’t read the online pdf textbook readings of each chapter.  I just read the power points and listened to Echo.  The professors did help if you are confused with a particular subject matter

Physical Diagnosis= recommend taking a lot of notes while the Doctors are doing a presentation before each lab.  Study all handouts plus lecture notes for the written and practical portion of the final.  Don’t just study the Lecture slides for the written portion or you’re screwed.

Virology= answer learning objectives for Dr. Sylte (if still teaching), Dr. Greene calls on people and will deduct your grade if you are not present.

Anatomy= PLEASE organize!!  Studying for the final was brutal b/c no one labeled their specimens.  I also sent this to my class for prep for the 2nd exam, and it helped out a lot!

Some classmates were noticing that the professors would show an abnormal or really cool artifact from a cadaver only to that particular nuclear group (ex: the thick cutaneus trunci m. that so many of us got wrong last semester or that huge thoracic duct that we saw in the last exam).  

SO- Starting this week, we will put white paper on each cadaver rack (and paper beside the goat bag) so that if you or a professor finds something abnormal or interesting, you simply jot it down (we just placed a flash card in a zip lock bag).  This way, during review time outside of lab, everybody will know where abnormalities are found in each animal. 

Through Him,

~Camille

Colossians 2:6-8= “So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him,  rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.  See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ.”
Leave a Reply

