Boot Camp Time (Week 16)

Week’s Itinerary= Bacteriology Final, and Radiology Quiz, Christmas Concert with AACE

After Thanksgiving break, I am so blown away at how intense these last 3 weeks of the semester will be like.  Two finals this week (Radiology quiz & Bacteriology final), two next week (Large Animal Nutrition and Neuroanatomy), and two finals in the last week (Anatomy and Physiology)!  I cannot relax just yet.

Before the break, the vet school offered 50 freshman students to take a 3 hour exam that tested out ways of how we study (our strengths and weaknesses).  It is called “Highlands Battery Test”.  I think it was worth it, because it helped me see how I should better prepare myself with different studying tools.  You need to sign up fast if you want to do it because there are 102 of you in the Freshman class, & it is free!

I went to a very helpful meeting about how to manage having a family with children during your vet school career.  I took down a lot of notes, so hopefully they will help you too:

Balance

-don’t balance/ just do it (If you try to make everything balanced and perfect, you will go crazy)

-if you don’t try to do everything perfectly, it’s awesome

-some colleges may have very few female or male faculty who had children (find other parents/ they understand the most)

In house day-care idea

    +hire a nanny (older or retired & one you can trust/ takes a lot of stress out of picking them up after school)

    +back-up baby-sitter for emergencies

Biggest thing:

-Teamwork

-In advance (compromise/ do a schedule)

-whiteboard on refrigerator= showing a schedule for spouse and older children to see (helps them know when you are coming home and when you are free)

-“Schedule in” your kids= make sure kids are your love (tell them to remind you when their special events are in advance)

Dr. Corrie Brown- International studies and had children (talk to her about her experience/ she was not there that day

            +choose short-term= you will miss home

Our Radiology Quiz was not too bad.  Study the learning objective list while viewing the radiology software found in the vet lab in the library.  There was only 15 questions and a bonus, so it was not too bad.  It involved a little more preparation though as opposed to the Palpation quiz I took before Thanksgiving break.

With the Bacteriology final, I thought I failed it, so I set up a time to meet with the professor on Friday, and he said I got a low C on the Final, which means I kept my B!  Praise God!  That test was hard.  He was very encouraging though.  He said I needed to work more on time management but that I am a highly motivated person just by what he saw in me 🙂

I had my Christmas concert with AACE (African American Choral Ensemble), and it was SO much fun!   There were also other UGA choirs and the incredible UGA Symphony Orchestra!  This concert soldout fast!  I wish I could have taken pictures of some of the costumes some performers wore, because they were amazing!

Screen_Shot_2012_10_30_at_3.31.35_PMDSC_2008This was one of the rehearsals before the actually concert took place.  There were a lot of us!!

DSC_2011Here is my music professor from undergrad who taught me wonderful vocalization techniques.  He is also AACE’s conductor

DSC_2012Also in my undergrad years, I took part in the advanced choir called “Hodgson Singers”.  Dr. Bara is their conductor, and he is phenomenal!

We were definitely having fun with this song!  That’s me that’s semi-conducting 🙂

Through Him,

~Camille

Proverbs 13:20= “Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm.”

2 thoughts on “Boot Camp Time (Week 16)

  1. It is so refreshing to know that other people pursue veterinary medicine Doctorate’s degrees on top of being parents. I have three children all under age three, so vet school will be quite a challenge, but I think I will be ready for it!

Leave a Reply

