Free at Last (Week 11)

Week’s Itinerary= Anatomy Test 2

Guys, I am really enjoying this 3–day weekend for Fall Break!  This was the first time in a few months that I was able to sleep until 12:30 in the afternoon.  It was beautiful & well deserved.  I’ll be quick on this post b/c I have 2 exams to study for in Week 12 (Bacteriology & Nutrition).

We got back our Neuroanatomy exam, & I definitely deserved the grade I got.  For Dr. Dookwah’s portion, I got a 66%, and for Dr. Edwards, a 94%.  Why they split the grades up like this . . . I have no idea (may be to terrify us).  So, my test grade together came out to be a 79%.  Like I said before, do not do what I did.  I was focusing heavily on mainly Edward’s lecture notes at first and then Dookwah’s notes.  Do the total opposite b/c his material is harder, and he wrote most of the test questions.

For the final Histology lab quiz, I finally did well on it!! (90.5%).  Our final is in 2 weeks!  Almost done guys!!!  To tell you the truth, I really have enjoyed learning Micro Anatomy.  The only issue is how the vet school gives us too many classes for me to appreciate the material the way I want to.

I have a secret I need to share with you all.  I played “hookie” or shall I say failed to attend class for the 1st time in my life b/c I needed more time to study for this monstrous 2nd Anatomy exam on Thursday.  I later found out that about half of the class did the same, so I don’t feel too bad 🙂  It was intense, but I did the best I could as far as preparation is concerned.  The experience was very much like Test 1 from Week 6, but I will remind you again:

Practical portion (Lab)

-We were split into our lab sections (lab 1 & lab 2) where half of the class went to the classroom & the other half went to the lab.  In the lab, each student gets a clipboard and walk slowly into the lab with the utmost suspense.  As you enter the room, the room is permeated with the smell of formaldehyde (“purified death”) as numerous tables are covered with canine skeletons, canine cadavers, and their limbs (this time, no limbs/ just body & fetus with placenta).  Chairs were placed by the table to give that luxurious feel for comfort.  Also, they have extra stations to just rest (unfortunately, Test 2 only provided only one rest station).  There are a total of 40 questions/stations (50 this time) and you only get 1 &1/2 minutes to stay in a station (Can’t go back).  **Tip= I jotted down notes on the back of the paper to refer back to questions if the time ran out.  I used the “rest stations” to go back & think it through.**  After the time at a station is done, the teacher will say “Move”.  Before, they used a buzzer, & that scared the mess out of people, so this way was much better.  There is a bonus (?).  Ours was pretty cool!  It was a limb from a lion. (Test 2 was identifying organs of the GI tract in a fetus).

Written portion (Lecture)

-Just like any other lecture test: fill in the blank & short answer.  Make sure to review the lecture notes as well as the learning objective sheet.  Some people forgot to look at these.

This week, we were allowed to sign up for our electives that we have to take next semester.  Make sure to remember to sign up b/c spaces for each class will run out soon.

My family and I finally got our photographs for my older brother and sister-in-law’s wedding!  They had it on June (6/9/12).  My sister-in-law is so beautiful!

-I’m on the far left and my immediate family is on the right.

Through Him,

~Camille

2 Thessalonians 1:4-5= “Therefore, among God’s churches we boast about your perseverance and faith in all the persecutions and trials you are enduring.  All this is evidence that God’s judgment is right, and as a result you will be counted worthy of the kingdom of God, for which you are suffering.”

Leave a Reply

