Anatomy Explosion (Week 10)

Week’s Itinerary= Neuroanatomy Midterm, Histology Lab Quiz 3, Renal Physiology Quiz 2, Halloween Costume Pics

Oh Anatomy . . . you are an obstacle I am so ready to take on and conquer!  This week, we had our Neuroanatomy Midterm, which was CRAZY hard followed by two quizzes in Microanatomy Lab and Renal Physiology.  Great news on my Neuroanatomy Lab exam!!!   Praise the Lord!  I thought I would get more questions wrong because I was beginning to just see blobs where they labeled the brain (long exam).  What is so funny is how I got most questions wrong towards the end of the exam.  I got a B (82%)!  I’ll take that in a heartbeat.  I will always strive for that A, but I praise God for passing.  Now the exam…  Best realistic advice I have for you is study Dookwah’s material first & whatever time you have leftover, study Edwards.  I did the reverse where I studied the first lecture to the last (trying to learn it from order of lecture that was taught, but it was a bad idea). Dookwah wrote the test, so many of the questions are from his notes.  I won’t make that mistake again.  He likes tracts with their pathways and labeling diagrams.

Again, the Lord is doing miraculous things in my life!  I got a B in my second Vet Physiology exam (80% / class average was a 82%).  This was the exam I felt devastated after taking it.  The quiz I took and got a 100% in before taking this exam really boosted my overall grade, so take those quizzes very seriously.  Studying for this week’s quiz was painful though.  I struggled to stay up, but I lost that battle.  Exhaustion ultimately engulfed me.  So I went to bed at 10pm and got up at 3am.  This helped so much!  I felt well rested even though it was so early in the morning.  I managed to get an 90%, which is a well deserved grade for the limited time that I had.  Here’s a cute renal phys. humor for you:

Our professor likes to put comic strips like these in our lecture slides 🙂

Horrible news!  My flash drive broke when my laptop crashed to the ground.  All of my vet school notes were on it 😦 (long story)  It’s okay.  I can’t rely on technology to succeed!

Thursday was a special day because we got to meet our mentors on Thursday (supposed to be outside, but there was a chance of rain). My mentor is Dr. Aime Koenig.  They pair you up with your interests after vet school.  Her specialty is Internal Medicine and Emergency Clinical Care services.  She has already helped me with many ideas!  There will be 2 summers of freedom before clinical rotations after our third year, so I need to start planning what I want to do.  I never did research, & I would love to volunteer in an emergency care clinic or go abroad & help animals in need again.

Our vet school mascot, Sheila, is retiring! 😦  She is 9 yrs old & suffering w/ hepatic lipidosis.  We’ll miss her.

This weekend was all about preparing for my second Anatomy exam which covers A LOT!!!  I am not going to stress over this material.  I am surprisingly really enjoying studying this stuff about the heart and GI tract and arteries and reproductive organs and . . . okay enough, sorry 🙂

I worked again at the Bear Hollow Zoo and saw some really cool blow up decorations for Halloween.  The kids really liked seeing them.

It’s supposed to look like leeches are in there.

Random pics from one of the vet fraternity costume party that I did not attend.  They were very creative that night.

Through Him,

~Camille

Deuteronomy 3:16= “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”
4 thoughts on “Anatomy Explosion (Week 10)

  1. Nope, the things I will encounter each week at vet school may come across as very random to some viewers, but hey! That’s my experience 🙂 Thanks for your concern.

  2. Very good written information. It will be supportive to anybody who utilizes it, as well as yours truly :). Keep up the good work – can’r wait to read more posts.

Leave a Reply

