Starting to feel the heat (Week 5)

Week’s Itinerary= Cell Biology Midterm, Vet Physiology Test 1

Have you ever had those weeks where you wanted to rest, but you really couldn’t?  Well, this was that week.  I was not feeling too well and felt a little sluggish, which ultimately affected my studying.  Also, these weeks feel like they are progressively getting more demanding.  For the first four weeks, we began classes at 9am.  Now they are having us wake up earlier for 8am classes.  I am quickly beginning to feel the tiredness and strain on my body.  After seeing the calendar, we will be having at least one test every week until Thanksgiving!  Ponder over that for a while . . .    We still had free lunches, but they were sporadic this week.  They are beginning to taper off all this love for First-year students, but I think they overwhelmed us with enough of that.  Thank you upperclassmen & clubs for your generosity!  Oh, and guys, they added a new course to our schedule (neuroanatomy) as if what we had was not enough to manage for the year.  I have to keep reminding myself that God has blessed me with this incredible opportunity even though it requires a huge sacrifice of time and patience.  The good news about all of this is how I basically am going “behind the scenes” of God’s beauty and power.  He made all of His creatures and people in such an intricate and exquisite fashion that leaves me in awe as I view His masterpiece.

I had two tests and a quiz this week.  One of the tests (Cell Bio) was a complete joke though.   I laughed out loud when I read the first question when they gave it to us on Tuesday in the beginning of class.  Believe me when I say don’t worry at all about this test.  It was take-home for one thing, and it had super easy questions!  I did feel like a heroine a little too b/c I found 2 questions where the format was confusing, so he dropped the questions and gave free points after I emailed him about it.  Oh yeah!!  Focus primarily on Physiology and Anatomy AND Histology this week 🙂  Don’t think you are smooth sailing with other classes.  They force you to keep pushing forward.

Monday was my Vet Physiology Exam.  We had a prayer meeting and cupcakes from OTS again!  I actually felt better about this exam than I did with Bacteriology.  However. . . I got a 77.5%.  I don’t know why I always start out weak in a course.  It’s so frustrating to me.  Fortunately, the professor gave us 5 extra points b/c there were questions that the majority of the class got wrong, so he reasoned with us.  So, I managed to get an 82.5% & the average was an 88%.  Again, like Bacteriology, I was second guessing myself & erasing answers that were right in the first place.  **Very important** Dr. Li for Vet Physiology is going to do a review session a couple days before the exam.  It messed me up b/c I only studied what he said to focus on, & there were things on the exam that he did not mention at the review session.  My advice, look over EVERYTHING if you want to get an A.**  For Bacteriology, we were supposed to get the grade on Monday, but my professor had a family emergency.  I am glad she puts family first.  We finally got it on Wed, and I got an 82.5% also in this class.  The average was extremely high again (89.3%), so my class as a whole is very intelligent (well, for these classes at least).  If you remember from last week’s blog post, I had to do the 2nd Histology Lab Quiz right after the Bacteriology exam and got a 69.4% (Went up only one point from my 1st lab quiz.  Boo!).  I wish I knew the average or I am going to begin to lose a lot of support for my blog 🙂  But many people were unhappy about their grade.  When you get into vet school, just remember that a few professors will not care that you have big exams when they are scheduling their own quizzes or exams.  Like for instance, the same professor scheduled the 3rd lab quiz the day before the Anatomy Exam next week! Ridiculous right!?  She’s a sweet professor though.

On Wed in Anatomy, they completely crammed the last terms we had to learn before the exam next week Wednesday.  This woke me up & forced me to focus heavily for the exam.  Dr. Roberts did provide an old test 1 key for us to look at.  Questions were like this (they can be tricky):

   Name 2 muscles that insert on this bone.

  What muscle is pinned?

  The green tape represents a muscle.  Contraction of this muscle will have what effect on the  non-weight bearing forelimb? (You may gently manipulate the limb)

   What muscle does this nerve innervate?

My classmates are so sweet! I helped them with something miniscule for prep for anatomy, and they applauded for me in class, so that made my day a little.  That’s what I love about my Class b/c we encourage and help each other.  We are not selfish or show any signs of competition . . . yet (hope it doesn’t turn to this).  Oh, and please don’t forget the lecture notes also.  I was primarily studying off of the learning objectives, but that is mainly for the lab portion of the exam (there will be a written & practical form of the test).

I just noticed that I really have no idea what is going on in the world.  I am horrible with keeping informed with current events, and I am realizing that this is horrible living!!  Just through word-of-mouth, I heard one of our ambassadors were killed, and it was close to September 11th!  I need to at least go online to CNN, Economist, or at least call my parents so that I know what is going on.  The only current event I am very aware of is how gas prices are still floating in the clouds.

I officially completed my zoo training!!!  I was a bit nervous though throughout the week before I had to take my training to practice on Saturday.  I decided to present (only could choose three animals) a hedgehog, a barn owl, and a ball python.  Handling those different varieties is SO cool right!?

This is me practicing how to hold a duck.  Didn’t mean to look all serious 🙂

Ball Python [First time handling one :)]

Barn Owl- very beautiful!

My first day of hosting for birthday parties at the zoo was on Saturday, and it went well!  I love children, and to be able to share my love for animals before their precious faces is so uplifting to me.  I get reviews after every party I do, and the parents thought I was very friendly and saw me as a unique hostess for the event.  That’s wonderful news!  The job consists of doing a 2o-minute presentation on three selected animals (some of the animals can be touched by the children) and then taking the children and their parents to the zoo and giving them a tour.  It is great practice for communication skills and educating others.

Through Him,

~Camille

“He sits enthroned above the circle of the earth,
and its people are like grasshoppers.
He stretches out the heavens like a canopy,
and spreads them out like a tent to live in.”

-Isaiah 40:22

(Oh, so writers in the Bible knew over 2,000 years ago that the earth was round.  Interesting . . .”

Leave a Reply

