Preparation for Victory (Week 3)

Week’s Itinerary= Class election results, Histology lecture quiz 1, and Cell biology paper 1

Don’t you just love three-day weekends!?  Instead of going home and having fun with my wonderful family though, I am here in Athens doing my best to catch up with studying (big Bacteriology exam next week).  I know, I am such a nerd, but who wouldn’t be if you decide to stay in college for another 4 years!!

I do have encouraging news as far as studying goes.  Remember when I mentioned last week that I have been experimenting ways of studying?  Well, listening very diligently to the professor during lectures actually helps a lot.  After lectures when I begin to study on my own, the material does not look foreign and brand new to me.  So, there you go.  I now will leave you to do whatever you decide on studying habits.  I know some already have a game plan after being in undergrad for many years now.

It has been three weeks now, and I still have not worried about bringing lunch to school.  Yes, the majority of this week still consisted of meetings GALORE with free meals!  You all will really appreciate this when you are a vet student.  I actually decided to join groups such as PathHeads Club and Zoo Med Club.  At first, I was not interested at all with Pathology until I saw the frantic faces of second years this week as they were preparing for their first Pathology Exam.  I believe this club will introduce me to diseases and abnormalities that will prepare me for next year and even further down the road during clinical rotations.

Make sure that you are preparing yourselves for the Microbiology (Histology) quiz and Cell Biology paper for Thursday (paper deadline may change).  The paper took less than 2 hours, but I can see why people would forget to do this report.  Also for the quiz, I did a retarded mistake!  I thought I was writing down the right term when in actuality I really was not.  Do not get confused between the terms fibroblast, chondroblast, and osteoblast.  Fibroblast has to do with cells within fibers, chondroblast for cells in cartilage, and osteoblasts are cells within bone.  Right now, you’re like “Wha???”, but once you take this course and see the pics, you will understand how stupid I felt after taking the quiz.

I highly advise you to take Human Physiology in your undergrad years before taking it here in vet school.  Not only is it helping me for Vet Physiology (still hard though), it is also helping me with Anatomy and Histology.  You will learn a lot about nerves, axons, dendrites, CNS, PNS, etc. in these classes, which will help you feel more comfortable since you have learned about it in Human Phys.  This week, the whole class was struggling in Histology lab because many of us had no clue what some of these terms meant involving the brain and spinal cord.  It even got frustrating for me a little bit as well.  In addition, I really am enjoying Anatomy!  I may be confused at first in lecture class, but things begin to clear up when my hands are literally in the dog.   During one of the lectures, a great teacher came and taught us about radiology (the usage of X-ray imaging).  In previous years, 1st years did not learn too much about radiology.  So when the 3rd year approached, they did poorly in the class.  They are now teaching us the fundamentals so that we will not be incredibly confused in the future.

Works cited: Dr. Holiday’s CNS Lecture Notes 🙂

Our Class of 2016 elections finally reached to a close.  Congratulations to our new class officers! (Pics were graciously provided by the officers)

President – Jenny Munhofen

Vice President – Will Basinger

Secretary – Cindy Kanis

Treasurer – Grace Vahey

Due to my love for free food, I completely forgot to stay and wait after Histology class to cast my vote.  Sorry guys!

This week, I heard some really unfortunate news about a formal vet student here at UGA.  From Class of 2014, Ivy Merck went missing  for about two weeks now, and there has been no news of her whereabouts.  She was last seen in Camden County (which is her home town).  Please keep her and her family in your thoughts and prayers.

Through Him,

~Camille

Romans 8:28
“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”

Leave a Reply

