First Day of Vet School

I jolted awake from a peaceful slumber this morning.  I don’t know if it was because I was feeling anxious about the first day or b/c the dim light outside mislead me to think I was late for class.  Either way, it definitely got me out of bed. I decided to leave early so that I could get a good seat.  If you want to keep your laptop plugged in for the lectures, there are tons of electrical circuits along the outer seats next to the stairs. Fortunately, I got free breakfast at my apartment and at the vet school, so I just kept one of the biscuit meals for lunch.

One of the professors said something very powerful that painted a clear picture for what to expect these four years here.  She said, “You will receive so much information at once as if we were spraying a water hose at you to drink it all up.”  We will be overwhelmed with new knowledge, so just be ready for that.

Should you begin studying now even though the first exam is in four weeks?

Yes, yes, YES!!  Please don’t procrastinate when it comes to vet school.  Some students a couple years ahead of us would say, “Don’t worry about studying the first few weeks . . . just relax and have fun.”  That is not a smart idea guys (unless you are a genius like they may be).  You will be incredibly behind and that’s how stress is created.  Study a little each day so that you build up and be enriched with great knowledge (I need to apply this to my work ethic as well).

The first class was Physiology, which began at 9a.  Don’t feel too comfortable with this schedule b/c it will later change to 8am everyday!  A friend from undergrad graced me with his presence today(Hey Jordan!)  We took Equine and Genetics classes together.  He is not a vet student yet, but he is taking Physiology with us for graduate studies in Animal Science.  Update from 2013: Jordan got into vet school at St. Georges in the Caribbean!  Congratulations friend!! 🙂

DSC_1554

In between classes, there are ten minute breaks until lunch, so it’s just enough time to use the restroom and stretch.  We then had Anatomy and Micro-Anatomy or “Histology”.  I kind of like that they are back-to-back because you see the big picture and then you see it zoomed in, so that’s pretty cool.

***Important***

Guys . . . I discovered something that may change your lives!!  If you think you will be stressing out about buying textbooks, relax b/c there is hope for you.  Not the vet school library but the science library in the middle of campus has many of the textbooks you need and you can take out for long periods of time!  I got three books that are helpful: Miller’s Dissection of Dog and Cat (about 6 left of 3rd and 2nd edition) and two important Histology books (were two left).  If you are in my class (Class of 2016), you really need to keep this on the low-low b/c there are books for future semesters that we need that will not be able to distribute nicely with the whole class.  So if you are reading this, good for you, but don’t spread the word okay.

Mainly, teachers went over the syllabus, but they also went through some notes.  I am going to study a little bit today to stay ahead of the game.  After my last class I went to my choir called AACE (African American Choral Ensemble), which meets M/W 4:30-5:30p.  I know I won’t be able to make it every time, but I am so thankful I will get a chance to escape from science classes.  I love this group!  It was sad to not see that many people on the first day, but everyone who did auditions sounded great.

I want to make sure I jot down my goals for vet school so that I see if I am still pursuing and sticking to it later on or doing something completely different.

Goals: I want to work predominately for a Small Animal Practice while also doing research with exotics.  In addition, I want to continue my career in singing and producing music for other artists.  I pray that whatever God leads me to do, I will continue to follow Him.

Helpful (General concepts) (This is Camille from the future after completing the first semester :)/ Refer back to this post so that you have an idea on how to study for these particular classes that I found helpful.)

Anatomy(canine only)= This is the only class you really need the required textbook and supplemental picture books to aid you in learning the anatomy of the dog.  use Saunders Flashcards when you’re on the go (on bus, while eating, waiting in line for food, etc)/ use a tutor for this class

-use websites for a clean version of a dissected dog

+(Colorado State University)              (http://www.cvmbs.colostate.edu/vetneuro/VCA3/vca.html)

-go to the lab for the student/unprofessional version b/c professors will use these for labeling on the exams

Bacteriology= Do charts or flashcards after 1st exam (they are going to cram you with specific organism names!)

-Answer the learning objectives (especially for Dr. Sylte if he’s still teaching)

Histology= use Histo Atlas 1st as an overview, then read lab notes or lecture notes (depending on the time quizzes are scheduled)/ use a tutor for this class

       -With lab notes, make sure that you write down and define all unfamiliar BOLDED terms under each topic (keeps info readily available and organized)

Neuroanatomy= Study Dr. Dookwah’s material before Edward’s Lecture Notes (Dr. Dookwah writes most of the exam questions).

Here is the class schedule:

http://www.vet.uga.edu/academic/class_schedules

Through Him,

~Camille

Jeremiah 29:11= “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

2 thoughts on “First Day of Vet School

  1. Great blog. Mon blog aussi ont beaucoup de trafic de Etats-Unis, l’Inde, le Royaume-Uni.

Leave a Reply

