Orientation Week (Day 4)

Today’s Itinerary Lectures at Merial Headquarters, MBTI Test Results and Skit rehearsal

I’m sorry but I have to do a quick shout-out to my group, Team 8!! I thoroughly enjoyed spending time with you all today. I truly feel blessed that I was placed randomly with you all. We had to practice a skit for our final orientation day and I was crying the way I was laughing so hard!! 🙂 Okay, back to my mission. Today, we went away from UGA’s campus and met up at Merial, an animal health company. We all appreciate this company for allowing us to use their facility. Breakfast consisted of biscuits (plain, sausage, or egg) and breakfast bars. The first thing we discussed was finding out the results of our “Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) Test. It basically tests our perception and personality differences (you will get this during the summer before you begin vet school). The four fields dealt with the following:

1. Focus your attention

Extraversion(E) vs Introversion(I)

2. Taking in Information

Sensing(S) vs. Intuition(N)

3. Making Decisions

Thinking(T) vs. Feeling(F)

4. Dealing with the outer world

Judging(J) vs. Perceiving(P)

You will get a good explanation on this from the speaker. It turns out that I am an INFP. I am very introverted around unfamiliar people but extremely extroverted around my family and friends. I also really care about the needs of others, so I can see why I am a “F”. I am a little balanced with the others though.

The rest of the day consisted of tons of lectures regarding communication skills and how to resolve conflict with my peers (lunch was tasty hamburgers, chips, and brownies). It was very basic yet very helpful information. I realized I am not the best with conflict resolutions. If I ever get ticked off or get hurt by someone, I will usually shut down, run away from the situation, and suppress my feelings. Oh I will forgive you, but I usually give up the battle and accept rejection. Horrible, I know!! If I ever do something that may offend or hurt someone else, I really want that person to please tell me b/c I sometimes am clueless of what might have happened. It’s interesting how I want someone to do that for me, but I have a hard time doing that myself. I will need to work on this.

Through Him,

~Camille

Romans 12:17-21= “Repay no one evil for evil, but give thought to do what is honorable in the sight of all. If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”

4 thoughts on “Orientation Week (Day 4)

    • MOMMIE!

      Thank you Mom! I don’t want to think of it as a book though 🙂 I just want it to be a form of Free-writing right now. But nice idea English Teacher!

      Love you,

      ~Camille

  1. Hi Camille,

    You have no idea who on earth I am, I am a undergraduate student and my dream is to become a veterinarian. I work the overnight shift as a vet assistant in Westchester, NY. Last night I randomly sat at the front desk and googled “black vet student blogs”. Your blog was the first to pop up. This is my second night reading and I am HOOKED. I honestly am in tears while reading some of your bible study entries or the scriptures you use to end your blogs. It just amazes me where God leads me and how he has placed your blog in my life as such a source of encouragement no matter what the adversary may place before me. I want to say THANK YOU! Please keep writing, if nobody else is reading… one person (me) is truly encouraged by this blog. Your information is tremendously helpful in giving me an idea of what school will be like. The fact that you are a fellow believer just puts a HUGE plus on this A worthy blog. Stay Blessed Camille. You are going to be an amazing vet.

  2. Ummm . . . Well I’m not crying at all 🙂 It is comments like these that make me sacrifice my time to help others. Thank you so much for your very kind words, and please continue to pursue this career if you feel that God is calling you to do this. It is a very rewarding experience! God bless you Kellie!

    ~Camille 🙂

Leave a Reply

