Orientation Week (Day 3)

Today’s Itinerary= Scavenger hunt, rope courses and other group activities.

Today’s activities were MUCH better than Friday’s!  During the first half of the day, we were split up into groups to do a very adventurous scavenger hunt all around campus. ((By the way, breakfast was the delicious “Panera” delicacies again)) Thankfully, the process outside the vet school was very easy for me since I am used to UGA’s campus by now.  Finding things in the vet school was the challenging part.  I kept thinking if this place was once a labyrinth the way some areas were difficult to find.  Places we had to locate outside of campus were surprisingly difficult to get to since summer school just ended.  You will not see many buses during breaks, which makes perfect sense.  So this is what we did instead . . . a very brave team member flagged down people driving trucks or SUVs! We surprisingly were able to hitchhike three times!!!! 🙂 Thankfully, the drivers were very enthusiastic with our game and were willing to help.  It was an exhilarating experience that I will never forget b/c I would never in my life get the guts to do this again, especially by myself.

After lunch, we then went to the back of the intramural fields to do exciting rope courses and other activities.  These exercises were up my alley b/c I love the outdoors and doing things outside my comfort zone.  The ropes course is not that bad at all.  I was thinking we would be way off the ground, but it was just a foot from the ground.  Still, the individual activities were still a bit challenging and dealt heavily on trusting one another.  The last activity I did ended quite hairy, but no one is perfect.  We had to find ways of hoisting each other up a 12 ft. wall.  I won’t give you any hints except that students who were past cheerleaders were leading the pact with great ideas.  When it was my turn to approach the wall, I wasn’t nervous or worried about making it to the top or not.  It was the response to my slow completion that messed me up a little.  Most of the crowd were cheering, but of course there are still be those who will laugh at your imperfections.  I usually sulk over how people view me, but I am changing for the better.  I am learning how to brush off negativity much better these days, & it feels great.  I made it to vet school, and I am a beautiful and wonderful child of God!  Amen!!

Through Him,

~Camille

Psalm 29:11= “The LORD gives strength to his people; the LORD blesses his people with peace.”

Leave a Reply

