Orientation Week (Day 2)

Today’s Itinerary= Informational sessions regarding clubs, retrieving your UGA card, and creative group activities

To be honest, it was a fun but overwhelming day.  There were TONS of group activities that we had to do, which included a lot of creativity and patience.  I realized that my personality in groups need a lot of improvement, but I will discuss that a little later in the post.

I reached the school a little late today, so all that was left was a biscuit w/o the chicken from Chick-fil-a.  The first two hours was an information session on the different organizations and sponsoring companies, but it was a little disorganized.  We had to take many breaks b/c speakers were not present, so that was frustrating.  Here were a few that you will hear from:

SCAVMA

If you want to join any clubs for the year,you must first join this organization (dues- $35)

AVMA (Health Insurance)

-They highly recommend that we have insurance while in vet school.  Cool addition: they will cover rabies cost if you sign up with this insurance plan!!

Purina

-Free pet food annually! (a bag per month)

-Scholarships ($1,000)

UGA Alumni

-www.alumni.uga.edu

-G-Book (traditions of Athens)

After this session, the next two hours consisted of meeting up and getting to know our group members.  The first two activities were knowing everyone’s name.  I suck with names!!  Would you believe it if I told you I learned everyone’s name just after these activities!?  Basically, you sit around in a circle and someone begins a story with their name and words that begins with the first letter of their names (ex: My name is Zack and I watched zebras at the zoo).  This worked so well for me b/c I’m learning names while building a story.  Then we had to create a robot where each of us were a functional device in the machine, and it will have to be presented .  Crazy right?  I don’t know if I was overwhelmed or just not into the project . . . too much thinking for my liking, but we came up with something.  We decided to be a huge syringe and plunge the needle into a cat.  We thought it would be funny and cute, but it turns out that the Class was totally confused when they saw our presentation.  Oh well.

We then had to take pictures for our student ID and composite photos for vet school.  Oh yeah, you must wear a very nice attire for today and bring gym clothes. 

If we were at UGA during undergraduate years, do we have to get a new card?

-Yes.  It is $25, and it is for you to be able to get in the vet school building after hours.

For lunch, we had Panera sandwiches, and I really enjoyed my tuna sandwich with my chocolate chip cookies.  We then had a book and organization fair where you can get more information.

The rest of the day consisted of excessive amounts of activities at the gym.  Here is where I felt overwhelmed and uneasy the most.  I sadly learned of all my weaknesses in a group setting.  Usually in groups, I am stuck with the job of recording and doing the busy work while everyone else did the more hands-on and fun activities like dissections and interesting lab assignments.  Here in these social activities, I did not talk as much and chip in with creative ideas.  I need to work on this b/c in order to be a vet, I need to lead more than be led.  Anyway, at least I got something out of the experience even though it was something I might not have been ready for.  I love my Team 8 though! 🙂

Through Him,

~Camille

P.s- Quit worrying!!!!

Matthew 6:25-27  “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?

Worry is the sin of distrusting the promise and providence of God, and yet it is a sin that Christians commit perhaps more frequently than any other.- John MacArthur

Leave a Reply

